Car toll in Austria

A vignette is compulsory in Austria for all motor vehicles up to and including 3.5 t.

Have the vignette sent conveniently to you at home before you travel and avoid queuing at the outlets.  Order now...

Roads subject to tolls and compulsory vignette

Vignettes are compulsory on all motorways and expressways in Austria, except road sections with tolls depending on mileage:*
  • A9 - Pyhrn Motorway: Bosruck Tunnel
  • A9 - Pyhrn Motorway: Gleinalm Tunnel
  • A10 - Tauern Motorway: Tauern and Katschberg Tunnels
  • A13 - Brenner Motorway: Entire route
  • A13 - Brenner Motorway: Exit Stubai
  • S16 - Arlberg Motorway: Arlberg Road Tunnel
Buy the vignette here for your vehicle now. For the special toll route sections you can use the following link directly to the Austrian toll operator ASFINAG and buy a video toll card in advance:** 

Vignette Austria

Vehicle type Validity  Quantity
AT: 10-day vignette 2014 (for vehicles up to 3.5 t)
Valid as from the desired day.
8.50€
AT: 2-month vignette 2014 (for vehicles up to 3.5 t)
Valid as from the desired day.
24.80€
AT: 1-year vignette 2014 (for vehicles up to 3.5 t)
Valid from 1 December of the preceding year until 31 January of the following year.
82.70€
plus dispatch and packaging costs (click here)
Vehicle type Validity  Quantity
AT: 10-day vignette 2014 (für motorcycles)
Valid as from the desired day.
4.90€
AT: 2-month vignette 2014 (for motorcycles)
Valid as from the desired day.
12.40€
AT: 1-year vignette 2014 (for motorcycles)
Valid from 1 December of the preceding year until 31 January of the following year.
32.90€
plus dispatch and packaging costs (click here)

Tip: Affix the vignette immediately on receipt.

A valid undamaged vignette affixed on an untinted area of the windscreen interior is the only acceptable substantiation that the toll has been duly paid.

A cash fine of up to € 240 is levied if a vignette is not affixed. If the fine is not paid immediately on the spot, administrative penal proceedings will be initiated and which involve considerably higher costs (€ 300 - € 3.000).


Did you know?

And this is how the video toll card works

You can buy the video toll card at many sales outlets or directly from ASFINAG and benefit from the advantage of automated processing at the special toll stations. For a small service charge we will be happy to handle buying the video toll card at ASFINAG for you and email the video toll purchase voucher to you.
If you have purchased a 1-year vignette you receive € 40 credit when you buy a 1-year video toll card. For this you need the lower vignette section of your 1-year vignette!
 
When you buy the card, the car number plate number is registered. When you drive the registered vehicle into the automatic processing lane the car number plate is identified and you can pass the toll station without stopping.
Note:
Note: The video toll card functions in all open processing lanes! In addition, there are the lanes marked in green which are reserved exclusively for video toll. The video toll lane marked in green can only be used by cars without trailer and a maximum width of 2m.
If the system does not recognise a vehicle despite valid video toll card (e.g. dirty number plate), you will be directed out to another open processing lane. So please do not forget to carry your video toll card or your 1-year toll card with you in the vehicle at all times! If you have ordered the video toll card through the Internet, then you must carry with you a copy sent to you to the email address you stated. You can obtain a toll card (in credit card format) free of charge with this copy at any manned toll station.

1. For which vehicles is a vignette compulsory?
Vignettes are compulsory for all motor vehicles with a maximum gross vehicle weight (GVW) of up to and including 3.5t (cars, motor-homes, motorcycles). Vehicles with a maximum gross weight of more than 3.5t need a GO Box (lorries, busses and heavy motor-homes) which is available at so-called GO Stations. The obligation to pay tolls in Austria begins immediately at the state border.
2. Which vignette do I need if my motorcycle has a sidecar?
A motorcycle with a sidecar is considered as one single track vehicle. Only one motorcycle vignette is needed for these vehicles. But motorcycles with two wheels on the rear axle are treated as cars!
3. Do I need to have an extra vignette for a trailer or caravan towed by a vehicle or do I need a GO Box for this?
Trailers pulled by a motor vehicle with a maximum gross vehicle weight (GVW) up to and including 3.5t do not need an additional vignette or a GO Box. One valid and properly affixed vignette on the drawing vehicle is sufficient.
4. When is a vignette considered as properly affixed?
After removing the carrier foil, the vignette must be affixed undamaged and directly on the inside of the windscreen where it can be easily seen and controlled from the outside (e.g. not stuck on behind a dark tinted strip). It is not permitted to stick the vignette on the side window. Special foils, suction cups, adhesive tapes etc. may not be used to affix a vignette. This kind of manipulation renders the evidence of orderly toll payment null and void. The vignette is thus invalid and a high fine must be expected. Simply carrying a vignette in the vehicle is only admissible in the special cases stipulated in the Toll Regulations (Section A I, Item 7).
5. Can I use a vignette more than once?
If a vignette already affixed to the windscreen is removed again, the security feature "invalid" appears on the vignette. The vignette cannot be affixed again.
6. Am I also allowed to affix the vignette on the right hand side of the windscreen?
The law does not stipulate the precise place where the vignette should be affixed on the windscreen. The valid vignette can be placed anywhere on the windscreen (not in tinted strips) as long as it is duly properly affixed. The illustration on the back of the vignette is a recommendation by ASFINAG.
7. How do I affix the vignette on a motorcycle?
With single track vehicles the vignette must be stuck where it is easily visible on a flat part which cannot be removed or can only be removed with difficulty. Care must be taken to ensure that the surface is clean before sticking on the vignette (dust, oil and wax residue etc. must be removed before sticking on the vignette).
8. Must I also stick on the lower vignette section?
The lower vignette section (Allonge) may not be affixed with the vignette, but it must be kept safely. With 1-year vignettes, for instance, it is needed if the windscreen breaks or when buying a 1-year card for a stretch of road subject to a special toll.
9. Is the obligation to have a vignette checked?
Yes, compliance with the vignette obligation is monitored by the ASFINAG toll supervision, the executive and by the so-called "automatic vignette checks" (an automated camera system) throughout all Austria.
10. Can I give an unused vignette back to ASFINAG (Austrian State Motorway and Expressway Toll Company)?
No, because the decisions to buy the vignette and which type, as well as the risk this involves, rests entirely with the buyer.
11. I have several vehicles with interchangeable number plates. Do I really need a separate vignette for each vehicle?
Yes, because the law stipulates that the vignette is bound to the vehicle and not to the registration. A new vignette must be purchased for the new vehicle if this changes.
12. Is a vignette also compulsory at service stations on the motorway?
Yes, a vignette is also compulsory at service stations which can be accessed not only from the motorway.
13. When do I get a replacement vignette?
You can only get a replacement of a 1-year vignette. For instance, if the windscreen breaks you must submit the detached original vignette together with the bottom vignette section and a copy of the workshop invoice to ASFINAG. The detailled rules for replacing the vignette are listed in the Toll Regulations which can be downloaded at www.asfinag.at.
14  Which road tax disc ('vignette') do I need for a trike or quad?
Trikes and quads require the normal vignette for passenger cars.
* Please bear in mind that you can only buy the video toll card online at ASFINAG and not vignettes.
** In addition, there is also the corridor vignette on the A14 - Rheintal/Walgau motorway in Vorarlberg between the German border and the Hohenems junction. You do NOT need an additional corridor vignette if you have a valid 1-year, 2-month or 10-day vignette.
All prices include 20 % Austrian VAT
Imprint  |  Legal information  |  Data Protection Policy  |  General Conditions of Business  |  Dispatch and packaging costs

PKW Maut in Österreich

Für alle Kraftfahrzeuge bis einschließlich 3,5t gilt in Österreich eine Vignettenpflicht.

Lassen Sie sich die Vignette vor Ihrer Reise bequem nach Hause senden und vermeiden Sie das Anstellen in den Warteschlangen an den Ausgabestellen.  Jetzt bestellen...

Maut- und vignettenpflichtige Straßen

In Österreich besteht eine Vignettenpflicht auf allen Autobahnen und Schnellstraßen. Ausnahmen sind Streckenabschnitte mit fahrleistungsabhängiger Bemautung:*
  • A9 - Pyhrn Autobahn: Bosrucktunnel
  • A9 - Pyhrn Autobahn: Gleinalmtunnel
  • A10 - Tauern Autobahn: Tauern- u. Katschbergtunnel
  • A13 - Brenner Autobahn: Gesamte Strecke
  • A13 - Brenner Autobahn: Abfahrt Stubai
  • S16 - Arlberg Schnellstraße: Arlberg Straßentunnel
Erwerben Sie gleich hier die Vignette für Ihr Fahrzeug. Für die Sondermautstrecken können Sie direkt folgenden Link zum österreichischen Mautbetreiber ASFiNAG nutzen, um dort eine Videomautkarte vorab zu erwerben:** 

Vignette Österreich

Fahrzeugart Gültigkeit  Menge
AT: 10-Tage-Vignette 2015 (für Fahrzeug bis zu 3,5 t)
Gültig ab dem gewünschten Tag.
8,70€
AT: 2-Monats-Vignette 2015 (für Fahrzeug bis zu 3,5t)
Gültig ab dem gewünschten Tag.
25,30€
AT: Jahres-Vignette 2015 (für Fahrzeug bis zu 3,5 t)
Gültig ab dem 01. Dezember des Vorjahres bis zum 31. Januar des Folgejahres.
84,40€
zzgl. Versand- und Verpackungskosten (hier klicken)
Fahrzeugart Gültigkeit  Menge
AT: 10-Tage-Vignette 2015 (für Motorrad)
Gültig ab dem gewünschten Tag.
5,00€
AT: 2-Monats-Vignette 2015 (für Motorrad)
Gültig ab dem gewünschten Tag.
12,70€
AT: Jahres-Vignette 2015 (für Motorrad)
Gültig ab dem 01. Dezember des Vorjahres bis zum 31. Januar des Folgejahres.
33,60€
zzgl. Versand- und Verpackungskosten (hier klicken)

Tipp: Vignette direkt nach Empfang aufkleben.

Nur eine gültige und außerhalb eines Tönungsstreifens auf der Windschutzscheibe innen aufgeklebte, unbeschädigte Vignette erbringt den Nachweis der ordnungsgemäßen Mautentrichtung.

Wird eine Vignette nicht aufgeklebt, wird ein Bußgeld von bis zu 240 € erhoben. Wird das Bußgeld nicht direkt bei der Kontrolle bezahlt, wird ein Verwaltungsstrafverfahren mit erheblich höheren Kosten (300 € - 3.000 €) eröffnet.


Wussten Sie schon?

Und so funktioniert die Videomautkarte

Sie können die Videomautkarte an vielen Vertriebsstellen oder direkt bei der ASFINAG erwerben und dadurch den Vorteil der automatischen Abfertigung an den Sondermautstellen nutzen. Gerne übernehmen wir - gegen ein geringes Serviceentgelt - für Sie den Erwerb der Videomautkarte bei ASFINAG und senden Ihnen den Beleg für den Erwerb der Videomaut per E-Mail zu.
Haben Sie eine Jahresvignette gekauft, so erhalten Sie beim Erwerb einer Jahres-Videomautkarte eine Anrechnung von 40 €. Hierfür benötigen Sie den unteren Vignettenabschnitt Ihrer Jahresvignette!
 
Beim Kauf der Karte wird das Kennzeichen des PKW freigeschaltet. Sobald Sie mit dem registrierten Fahrzeug in die automatische Abfertigungsspur einfahren, wird das Autokennzeichen identifiziert und Sie können die Mautstelle ohne anzuhalten passieren.
Hinweis:
Hinweis: Die Videomautkarte funktioniert an allen geöffneten Abfertigungsspuren! Zusätzlich gibt es die grün gekennzeichneten Fahrspuren, die ausschließlich für die Benutzung der Videomaut reserviert sind. Die Benutzung der grün gekennzeichneten Videomaut-Spur ist nur für PKW ohne Anhänger mit einer Breite von maximal 2m möglich.
Wird ein Fahrzeug trotz gültiger Videomautkarte vom System nicht erkannt (z.B. infolge Verschmutzung des Kennzeichens), werden Sie zu einer anderen geöffneten Abfertigungsspur ausgeleitet. Bitte vergessen Sie deshalb nicht, Ihre Videomautkarte bzw. Ihre Jahresmautkarte immer im Kraftfahrzeug mitzuführen! Haben Sie die Videomautkarte über das Internet bestellt, müssen Sie eine Kopie, die an Ihre angegebene Email-Adresse gesendet wurde, mitführen. Mit dieser Kopie können Sie auch an jeder bemannten Mautstelle eine kostenlose Mautkarte (im Scheckkartenformat) erwerben.

1. Für welche Fahrzeuge gilt die Vignettenpflicht?
Die Vignettenpflicht gilt für alle Kraftfahrzeuge mit einem höchstzulässigen Gesamtgewicht bis einschließlich 3,5t (PKW, Wohnmobile, Motorräder). Kraftfahrzeuge, deren höchstzulässiges Gesamtgewicht über 3,5t liegt, benötigen eine GO-Box (LKW, Busse und schwere Wohnmobile), die es an sogenannten GO-Stationen gibt. Die Mautpflicht in Österreich besteht bereits ab der Staatsgrenze.
2. Welche Vignette brauche ich, wenn mein Motorrad einen Beiwagen hat?
Motorräder mit Beiwagen gelten als einspurige Fahrzeuge. Für diese Fahrzeuge wird nur eine Motorrad-Vignette benötigt. Jedoch gelten Motorräder mit zwei Rädern auf der Hinterachse als PKW!
3. Brauche ich für einen Anhänger oder einen Wohnwagen, der von einem PKW gezogen wird, zusätzlich eine Vignette oder benötige ich dafür eine GO-Box?
Anhänger, die von einem Kraftfahrzeug mit einem höchstzulässigen Gesamtgewicht bis einschließlich 3,5t gezogen werden, benötigen weder eine zusätzliche Vignette noch eine GO-Box. Eine gültige, ordnungsgemäß geklebte Vignette am Zugfahrzeug ist ausreichend.
4. Wann ist eine Vignette ordnungsgemäß angebracht?
Die Vignette ist – nach Ablösen von der Trägerfolie – unbeschädigt und direkt so auf die Innenseite der Windschutzscheibe anzukleben, dass sie von außen gut sichtbar und kontrollierbar ist (z.B. kein Aufkleben hinter einem dunklen Tönungsstreifen). Das Aufkleben der Vignette auf der Seitenscheibe ist nicht zulässig. Zur Anbringung nicht erlaubt sind spezielle Folien, Saugnäpfe, Klebestreifen etc. Eine derartige Manipulation verwirkt den Nachweis einer ordnungsgemäßen Mautentrichtung. Die Vignette ist somit ungültig und es ist mit einer hohen Strafe zu rechnen. Das bloße Mitführen einer Vignette ist ausschließlich in den in der Mautordnung (Teil A I, Punkt 7) geregelten Fällen zulässig.
5. Kann ich eine Vignette mehrmals benutzen?
Wird eine bereits geklebte Vignette von der Windschutzscheibe gelöst, erscheint auf der Vignette das Sicherheitsmerkmal „ungültig“. Die Vignette kann nicht nochmals geklebt werden.
6. Darf man die Vignette auf der Windschutzscheibe auch rechts kleben?
Der exakte Anbringungsort der Vignette auf der Windschutzscheibe ist nicht gesetzlich festgelegt. Die gültige Vignette kann überall (jedoch nicht im Tönungsstreifen) auf der Windschutzscheibe aufgeklebt werden, sofern sie ordnungsgemäß angebracht wird. Die grafische Darstellung auf der Vignettenrückseite ist eine Empfehlung der ASFINAG.
7. Wie bringe ich die Vignette an einem Motorrad an?
Bei einspurigen Fahrzeugen ist die Vignette gut sichtbar auf einem möglichst ebenen und nicht oder nur schwer zu entfernenden Bestandteil direkt aufzukleben. Beim Aufkleben ist unbedingt darauf zu achten, dass der Untergrund sauber ist (Staub, Öl-, Wachsreste und dergleichen unbedingt vor dem Aufkleben entfernen).
8. Muss ich den unteren Vignettenabschnitt auch aufkleben?
Der untere Vignettenabschnitt (Allonge) darf nicht mit der Vignette aufgeklebt werden. Die Allonge ist jedoch unbedingt aufzubewahren. Bei Jahresvignetten wird sie beispielsweise im Falle eines Scheibenbruches oder bei einem Erwerb einer Jahreskarte für eine Sondermautstrecke benötigt.
9. Wird die Vignettenpflicht kontrolliert?
Ja, die Einhaltung der Vignettenpflicht wird von den ASFINAG Mautaufsichtorganen, von der Exekutive und durch die sogenannte „Automatische Vignettenkontrolle“ (ein automatisiertes Kamerasystem) im gesamten Bundesgebiet überwacht.
10. Kann eine ungenutzte Vignette an die ASFINAG zurückgegeben werden?
Nein, da die Entscheidung über den Kauf und den Vignettentyp und das damit verbundene Risiko allein beim Käufer liegt.
11. Ich habe mehrere Fahrzeuge mit Wechselkennzeichen. Benötige ich wirklich für jedes Fahrzeug eine eigene Vignette?
Ja, da gesetzlich festgelegt ist, dass die Vignette an das Fahrzeug und nicht an das Kennzeichen gebunden ist. Auch bei einem Fahrzeugwechsel ist der Erwerb einer neuen Vignette für das neue Fahrzeug notwendig.
12. Sind Raststationen auf der Autobahn vignettenpflichtig?
Ja, auch Raststationen, die nicht nur von der Autobahn aus erreichbar sind, unterliegen der Vignettenpflicht.
13. Wann bekomme ich eine Ersatzvignette?
Eine Ersatzvignette können Sie nur auf Jahresvignetten erhalten. Beispielsweise bei einem Windschutzscheibenbruch müssen Sie die abgelöste Originalvignette zusammen mit dem unteren Vignettenabschnitt und einer Kopie der Werkstattrechnung bei ASFINAG einreichen. Die genauen Regelungen zum Ersatz der Vignette sind und der Mautordnung aufgelistet und sind unter www.asfinag.at abrufbar.
14. Welche Vignette brauche ich für ein Trike oder Quad?
Trikes und Quads benötigen eine PKW-Vignette.
* Bitte beachten Sie, dass Sie nur die Videomautkarte und keine Vignetten bei ASFiNAG online erwerben können.
** Zusätzlich gibt es noch die Korridorvignette auf der A14 - Rheintal/Walgau Autobahn in Vorarlberg zwischen der deutschen Staatsgrenze und der Anschlussstelle Hohenems. Mit einer gültigen Jahres-, 2-Monats- oder 10-Tages-Vignette benötigen Sie KEINE zusätzliche Korridorvignette.
Alle Preise inkl. 20 % österreichischer Mehwertsteuer
Impressum  |  Rechtliche Hinweise  |  Datenschutzerklärung  |  Allgemeine Geschäftsbedingungen  |  Versand- und Verpackungskosten